FREE GROUND SHIPPING ON ORDERS $50+

facebookinstagram twitter button pinterest email

Every Time I Go on Vacation, Someone Dies: A Novel (The Vacation Mysteries #1) (Hardcover)

Every Time I Go on Vacation, Someone Dies: A Novel (The Vacation Mysteries #1) By Catherine Mack Cover Image
List Price: $28.00
Our Price: $25.20
(Save: $2.80 10%)
Not currently on our shelves - Usually Ships in 3-5 Days

May 2024 Indie Next List


“A mystery writer, a con man, and a ex-boyfriend walk into the Colosseum…in the perfect book to sit by the pool and read as you sip an aperol spritz. Mack’s perfect vacation read is packed with murder, mayhem, and the funniest footnotes.”
— Katie Fransen, The Novel Neighbor, Webster Groves, MO

Description


Ten days, eight suspects, six cities, five authors, three bodies . . . one trip to die for.

"Quick, captivating, and oh-so-much-fun! This delicious mystery is as spellbinding as Knives Out."—Elle Cosimano, New York Times bestselling author of the Finlay Donovan series

All that bestselling author Eleanor Dash wants is to get through her book tour in Italy and kill off her main character, Connor Smith, in the next in her Vacation Mysteries series—is that too much to ask?

Clearly, because when an attempt is made on the real Connor’s life—the handsome but infuriating con man she got mixed up with ten years ago and now can't get out of her life—Eleanor’s enlisted to help solve the case.

Contending with literary competitors, rabid fans, a stalker—and even her ex, Oliver, who turns up unexpectedly—theories are bandied about, and rivalries, rifts, and broken hearts are revealed. But who’s really trying to get away with murder?

Every Time I Go on Vacation, Someone Dies is the irresistible and hilarious series debut from Catherine Mack, introducing bestselling fictional author Eleanor Dash on her Italian book tour that turns into a real-life murder mystery, as her life starts to imitate the world in her books.

About the Author


CATHERINE MACK (she/her) is the pseudonym for the USA Today and Globe & Mail bestselling author of over a dozen novels. Her books are approaching two million copies sold worldwide and have been translated into multiple languages including French, German, Portuguese, and Polish. Television rights to Every Time I Go on Vacation, Someone Dies and its forthcoming sequels sold in a major auction to Fox TV for development into a series, with Mack writing the pilot script. A dual Canadian and US citizen, she splits her time between Canada and various warmer locations in the US.

Praise For…


Indie Next List Pick (May 2024)
Library Journal’s Mystery Pick of the Month (April 2024)
One of Goodreads’ Readers’ Most Anticipated Mysteries & Thrillers of 2024
One of Criminal Element’s “Most Anticipated Reads: April 2024”

“This humorous mystery with a touch of romance was auctioned to Fox TV for development as a series, with Mack writing the pilot. For fans of Knives Out or E.J. Copperman’s “Jersey Girl Legal Mysteries.””—Library Journal (Starred Review)

“This novel is funny and suspenseful, featuring Eleanor as a witty and relatable narrator who constantly breaks the fourth wall in an entertaining and original use of footnotes. Mack's tale is full of lively references (Taylor Swift galore), beautiful Italian settings, romance, fun chapter titles, and an interesting mix of suspects who are almost all mystery writers themselves. It is an amusing, light read that invites the reader to gather the clues and solve the crime before Eleanor reveals the answer.”—Booklist

“Eleanor’s first-person narration is a delight, chock-full of amusing asides (often in footnotes) that wryly examine the craft of mystery writing and business of publishing. A sequel would be welcome.”—Publishers Weekly

“This series debut is sure to delight fans of traditional mysteries as well as those who prefer a good CWC (cozy with corpses) . . . Perfect for fans of The Magpie Murders; the Finlay Donovan series; and Only Murders in the Building.”—First Clue

“This book is fabulous! A hilarious and fun romp with a great mystery all rolled into one. I couldn’t put this down and you won’t either. Take it on your next vacation!”—Liv Constantine, New York Times bestselling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish

"Quick, captivating, and oh-so-much-fun! This delicious mystery is as spellbinding as Knives Out, featuring a spectacular sun-drenched setting and an utterly engaging cast who all possess a motive for murder.”—Elle Cosimano, New York Times bestselling author of the Finlay Donovan series

"The hijinks! The humor! The heart! I can't remember the last time a book made me laugh out loud so many times. If you need me, I'll just be over here waiting impatiently for book two.”—Colleen Oakley, USA Today bestselling author of The Most True Story of Tanner and Louise

“A brilliant concept so smoothly well-executed, Every Time I Go on Vacation, Someone Dies is a hilarious, sharp mystery that I couldn't tear myself away from. With laugh-out-loud insight into the world of publishing set in a fabulous locale, this witty novel is the definition of fun. Catherine Mack has penned a fast-paced, addictive story like no other.”—Samantha M. Bailey, USA Today and #1 international bestselling author of A Friend in the Dark

“With her snappy dialogue, and hilarious footnotes, novelist Eleanor Dash is the perfect imperfect heroine to guide you on this madcap Italian odyssey, an Aperol Spritz in hand. I felt like I was on holiday. But with murder. I couldn't stop reading.”—Jessa Maxwell, author of The Golden Spoon

“Looking for the perfect escape? Then look no further: Catherine Mack’s uproariously hilarious mystery, Every Time I Go On Vacation, Someone Dies, is the binge-worthy, delicious read that you've been waiting for. Equal parts Finlay Donovan and White Lotus Season 2, with biting, razor-sharp social commentary and wickedly dark humor that made me cackle out loud, Mack has created the ultimate, root-for-worthy heroine in bestselling author Eleanor Dash, whom I'm prepared to follow anywhere!”—May Cobb, author of My Summer Darlings

“A sparklingly fresh take on the classic murder mystery novel. A fast-paced and twisty delight of a novel that kept me guessing till the end, with a fabulously witty and entertaining narrator and heroine.”—Kat Ailes, author of The Expectant Detectives

“Fans of Knives Out and the Finlay Donovan series will adore Catherine Mack’s smart and funny mystery set in picturesque Italy. With its unforgettable narrator, terrific ensemble cast, wine, romance, and even a murder...or two—this novel is pure delight.”—Amy Poeppel, author of The Sweet Spot and Musical Chairs

“Fresh, clever, and laugh out loud funny! Every Time I Go on Vacation, Someone Dies is written by an author about an author being an author. Mack smashes through the fourth wall, giving you an inside look at the complex and hilarious world of publishing, while making you feel like you're a part of the story. It's wildly fun, completely addictive, and an absolute must read!”—Jeneva Rose, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Marriage



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250325853
ISBN-10: 1250325854
Publisher: Minotaur Books
Publication Date: April 30th, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English
Series: The Vacation Mysteries